Tuesday 16th June

Today I stayed home from stitching to finish our Signature Quilt. We have a commitment in our group that when we set a block challenge we see it through to the final quilt. I set the signature block challenge last year for our 25th anniversary so today I saw it through. Only the binding to do now! I want it completed to show at our Quilt Show next month.

As I sat quilting on my own, my mind drifted to the subject of friendship. The dictionary says it is a “friendly disposition shown or felt”. What is it about friendship that leads us to gather in groups to persue our creative interests? Is it the sharing, the chatter, the support, the audience for our work or even the morning tea? The basis of most crafts groups is the friendship we forge there. Even if you are new to a town or area you can find like minded people to be with who offer kindness, regard and affection. Crafting in isolation is never as satisfying as crafting with friends.

So today, when we have quite a few members facing serious health issues and medical procedures, stop for a moment and count our blessings and be kinder to one another. And remember as Katherine Butler Hathaway said ” There is nothing better than the encouragement of a good friend”.

Best wishes to Claudette and Helen. We are keeping you in our loving thoughts.

The signature quilt under my trusty Janome which I have nicknamed Big Red.

The signature quilt under my trusty Janome which I have nicknamed Big Red.

Signature Quilt before its binding.

Signature Quilt before its binding.

This entry was posted in Friendship Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday 16th June

  1. Lynn Gibb says:

    Ladies, I have just had the day from hell. I logged onto your site for some reminiscing and saw the rose quilt and was really chuffed to see the rose block I made top centre. It really brought a little happiness to an otherwise awful day. Cheers, Lynn

Leave a Reply

